Test Results

What test results are and how they are used.

Test Results

XTC will automatically download the test results at the end of the load test. These will be available in the Results tab.

To view test results, your account must at least have the role of a reviewer within the project.

You may download all results as compressed archives if you need them on your local machine, and XTC can also generate a link for public sharing. In addition to that, XTC allows you to generate reports from every available result set, be it final or intermediate.

Results tab and results context menu

Results are basically the raw data recorded during a test. They are hard to read and usually you will only need them if you are looking for very specific information that is not contained in the test report.

Downloading Results

To download a set of test results, click Download in the result set’s context menu. You will get a .tar.gz archive containing nested archives for all timers.csv files.

To use this feature, your account must at least have the role of a reviewer within the project.

Sharing Results

To use this feature, your account must at least have the role of a test manager within the project.

Sharing results in XTC is very similar to sharing reports, in that all results are available to any project member who has at least the project role of a reviewer. As a project administrator, you can add XTC users as reviewers to the project if you want them to have access to all results.

To share results outside XTC, you can create a public sharing link by clicking Share in the context menu of the result to be shared. A prompt will open and you may select whether to use the default sharing settings or define an expiration time specifically for this result link.

Clicking Create Share will create the link for public sharing, which will be displayed below the result link as Shared Link. Anyone with the link can access the result without authentication. All links are time limited and will expire automatically. Links don’t display any project details and can be invalidated at any time manually by the unshare option (in the context menu of the shared result).

You can change the expiration time of an already shared result later if needed, by either updating the project’s default sharing settings (which will update expiration times for all results shared by using this default), or by clicking Edit Share in the result’s popup menu and selecting a new expiration date. The link won’t be changed by this, just its lifetime. If you want to invalidate a shared link, select the Unshare option instead. To remove all custom shared links at once, use the option to delete existing custom share links in the project’s sharing settings.

Creating a Report from Results

To use this feature, your account must at least have the role of a tester within the project.

XTC allows you to generate as many custom reports as you like from any available result set. Just click Create Report in the result set’s context menu: there will be a popup to configure the report settings, just like on creating a new custom report from the Reports tab.

In fact, creating a new custom report in the Reports tab does the same thing as creating a new report from the final results, however this option is useful for creating custom reports from intermediate test results.

Deleting Results

To use this feature, your account must at least have the role of a tester within the project.

Finally, if you don’t need a generated result set any longer, you may want to delete it to save storage space. To do this, just click Delete in the result set’s context menu. You will be prompted to confirm that you really want to delete the results.

Last modified March 4, 2022